idv

Information about the Project
"Regional Networking in the Service of Environment, Energy and Economy - The Example of Austria's Waldviertel"

Uni-Logo

- idv-Home   - Impressum

- Deutschsprachige Fassung dieses Dokumentes

Project Managers:

Partners in the Cooperative Project:

Johannes Kepler University Linz, Department of Data Processing in Social Sciences, Economics and Business
The Waldviertel Management, Edelhof 3, A-3910 Zwettl, Austria

Austria's Waldviertel ...

... is characterized primarily by small and very small businesses. International studies indicate that businesses in such regions face problems in marketing, distance to markets, and shortage of qualified personnel. Furthermore, business administration methods, computer support, and interbusiness communication that have become standards in medium and large businesses rarely find application among small businesses.

The integrated concepts required in today's regional development demand more intensive networking of the sectors (agriculture, tourism, small business, etc.) in economy and communication. Thereby it is important to concentrate on regional strengths, such as an intact environment. For businesses in Austria's Waldviertel, building cooperation among companies in the region and with companies outside the region is strategically necessary. For businesses in Austria's Waldviertel, it is strategically necessary to build cooperation within and beyond the region. The heightened coordination effort necessitates the use of modern information and communication technology.

This regional networking project will define the requirements for training, continuing education, and user services, and deliver organizational and technical solutions. Analogously to a well-developed road and railway system, a communications infrastructure meets a significant prerequisite for future economic development.

This project deals with ...

... the expansion of the regional networking infrastructure in the realm of regional project management. This study strives to prevent undesirable developments and to contribute to the success of the Waldviertel Management.

Based on the goals of the Waldviertel Management (especially increasing the attractiveness of the Waldviertel as a potential site for business and reversing the emigration trend) and their concepts regarding environment, energy and economy (including agriculture), this project will identify the potential of modern information and communication technology. Correctly installing such technology requires weighing not just technical considerations but also organizational and business administration aspects and the politico-economic characteristics of the region. The regional networking of highly complex, sensitive and already networked subprojects demands a careful approach to the planning and introduction of these technical and organizational solutions. We assume that the measures recommended in this study will be implemented and coordinated by the Waldviertel Management.

Goals

  • Organizational solutions are to be provided for intercompany communications, based on modern information and communications technology, within the region, with neighboring regions (e.g., South Bohemia), and throughout Europe and the world.
  • Forms of technical support for Waldviertel companies and institutions among themselves and with partners outside the region will be subjected to critical analysis.
  • Concepts for infrastructural support (e.g., a user service center) will be recommended for meeting the demands of training and continuing education.
  • Progressive training and teaching concepts, tuned to regional requirements, will be suggested.

The results of the study should be incorporated into the development concepts for the Waldviertel at a higher regional level and, adapted to the respective local characteristics, should also be applicable in other regions of Austria.

Partners in the cooperative project include the Waldviertel Management and Waldviertel Initiatives. Close cooperation with ARGE Grenznutzen (Border Benefits Association) in Gmünd will help to facilitate communication with South Bohemia.

- idv-Home   - Impressum

© 1994 Department of Data Processing in Social Sciences, Economics and Business

idv

Information über das Projekt
"Regionale Vernetzung im Dienste von Umwelt, Energie und Wirtschaft - am Beispiel Waldviertel"

Uni-Logo

- idv-Home   - Impressum

- English version of this document

Projektleiter:

Kooperationspartner:

Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, Institut für Datenverarbeitung in den Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Waldviertel Management, Edelhof 3, A-3910 Zwettl, Niederöstereich

Die bestehende Situation im Waldviertel ...

... ist vorwiegend durch Klein- und Kleinstbetriebe charakterisiert. Internationale Studien weisen darauf hin, dass Betriebe in derartigen Regionen vor allem Probleme in den Bereichen Marketing, Distanz zu Märkten, Marktzugang und Mangel an qualifiziertem Personal aufweisen. Betriebswirtschaftliche Methoden, EDV-Unterstützung sowie zwischenbetriebliche Kommunikationsformen, wie sie heute in mittleren und großen Unternehmungen zum Standard gehören, kommen derzeit nur eingeschränkt zum Einsatz.

Gemäss den heute erforderlichen integrierten Konzepten der Regionalentwicklung ist es notwendig, die Sektoren (Landwirtschaft, Fremdenverkehr, Kleingewerbe usw.) wirtschaftlich und somit auch kommunikativ intensiver zu vernetzen. Wesentlich ist es dabei, auf regionale Stärken, wie z. B. eine intakte Umwelt, zu setzen. Eine strategische Notwendigkeit für die Waldviertler Betriebe ist es, verstärkt Kooperationen von Firmen innerhalb der Region und auch solche zu Firmen ausserhalb aufzubauen. Der erhöhte Koordinationsaufwand macht den Einsatz moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik erforderlich.

Ergebnis des Projektes sind organisatorische und technische Lösungen, sowie die Erfordernisse der Aus- und Weiterbildung und des Benutzerservices. Analog zu einem gut ausgebauten Straßen- oder Schienennetz bildet die Infrastruktur für eine regionale Vernetzung eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für die zukünftige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung.

Gegenstand des Projektes ...

... ist der weitere Ausbau regionaler Infrastruktureinrichtungen in Richtung auf Vernetzung im Rahmen des Waldviertel-Projektmanagements. Durch diese Studie soll möglichen Fehlentwicklungen entgegengewirkt und ein Beitrag zum Erfolg der Aktivitäten des Waldviertel-Managements geleistet werden.

Ausgehend von den Zielvorstellungen des Waldviertel-Managements (insbesondere Steigerung der Attraktivität des Standortes Waldviertel, Förderung der Rückwanderung) sowie von den Fachkonzepten des Waldviertel-Managements in den Bereichen Umwelt, Energie und Wirtschaft (einschl. Landwirtschaft) werden die Potentiale moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken für die Region Waldviertel aufgezeigt. Der Einsatz moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken verlangt neben der Betrachtung technischer vor allem auch das Einbeziehen organisatorischer bzw. betriebswirtschaftlicher Aspekte sowie volkswirtschaftlicher Besonderheiten dieser Region. Wesentlich ist die sorgfältige Vorgehensweise bei Planung und Einführung dieser technisch-organisatorischen Lösungen, zumal es sich um hochkomplexe, sensible und vernetzte Teilprojekte handelt. Es wird davon ausgegangen, dass die in der Studie vorgeschlagenen Massnahmen vom Waldviertel-Projektmanagement umgesetzt bzw. koordiniert werden.

Angestrebte Ergebnisse

  • Organisatorische Lösungen zur zwischenbetrieblichen Kommunikation - basierend auf modernen Informations- und Kommunikationstechniken - in der Region, aber auch mit Nachbarregionen (z. B. Südböhmen).
  • Technische Unterstützungsformen zur Kooperation von Waldviertler Firmen und Institutionen untereinander sowie mit Partnern ausserhalb der Region sollen einer kritischen Analyse unterzogen werden.
  • Den steigenden Erfordernissen der Aus- und Weiterbildung wird mit Konzepten zur infrastrukturellen Betreuung (z. B. Benutzerservice-Center) Rechnung getragen.
  • Fortschrittliche Bildungs- bzw. Lehrkonzepte - abgestimmt auf die Bedarfe dieser Region.

Die Ergebnisse der Studie sollten auch in einem übergeordneten regionalen Entwicklungskonzept des Waldviertels, sowie angepasst an die jeweiligen Charakteristika auch in anderen österreichischen Regionen berücksichtigt werden.

- idv-Home   - Impressum

© 1994 Institut für Datenverarbeitung in den Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften